2022 graduation awards

Jun 09, 2022

Jump to:

Master of Urban Design

Master of Landscape Architecture

Master of Architecture

Master of Urban Design

Allan Clapp Book Prize

Rachel Rauser

Given to an outstanding student who exhibits the combined urban design strengths of imagination, collaboration and determination throughout the program.

Ray Spaxman Book Prize

Ronak Shah

This prize is given to a student who has demonstrated outstanding achievement in design studio.

Walter Hardwick Book Prize

Ronak Shah

Given to a student that has shown outstanding overall achievement and top academic performance in the program.

Master of Landscape Architecture

Carolyn Donnelly Book Prize

Allison Brown

Offered annually to a graduating student who has demonstrated excellent hand sketching in studio work and has shown a keen interest in plants and their Latin origins.

LARC Faculty Book Prizes

Chris Rothery
Josh Fender
Gavin Pattman
Christen Oakes
Beau Wuthrich

This book prize is presented to the student who best demonstrates a commitment to fellow students and to the ethics of the design studio environment. 

Marsh-Patterson Scholarship

Kevin Parsons

Endowed by Professors William Marsh and Douglas Paterson for students in the Landscape Architecture Program, with preference for those demonstrating an interest in or whose graduation project focuses on the concerns of rural and small town communities in British Columbia.

Dr. John Wesley Neill Prize

Ivana Lexa-French

The British Columbia Society of Landscape Architects provides the Dr. John Wesley Neill Prize to the outstanding graduating student in Landscape Architecture. The award recognizes that student who has demonstrated a high level of academic achievement, leadership ability and commitment to ideals of the profession.

Durante Kreuk Prize

Berend Kessler

This prize has been endowed by Durante Kreuk Limited for a student in the Master of Landscape Architecture program who has achieved the highest degree of design excellence in the graduation project.

Landscape Architecture Program Award

Kendra Scanlon

The Landscape Architecture Program Award is given to an outstanding student. This award is considered Head of the Class.

Master of Architecture

Abraham Rogatnick Book Prize

Patrick Mella
Connor Arms

A book prize made available to a graduating student for a project that most exhibits creative, poetic talent in a design which, if carried out, would most enrich the environment and inspire the spiritual lives of the people using that environment.

Student Contribution Prize

Gavin Pattman
Tyler Dellebuur

A book prize in recognition of a student who, in the opinion of the faculty, has made a contribution to the learning environment in Architecture.

John Gaitanakis Prize in Architecture

Yang Yu

A prize has been endowed by Professor John Gaitanakis in the area of sustainable development. The award is offered to a student in the Master of Architecture program for achievement of a design project emphasizing ecological consideration in the urban environment.

UBC Architecture Alumni Henry Elder Prize

James Letkeman

A prize endowed by friends and former students of Henry Elder, Director of the School of Architecture from 1961 to 1975, to recognize his inspirational and humanistic qualities which brought a spirit of enquiry and joy in the study of architecture. The prize is awarded to a student demonstrating those qualities.

Merrick Architecture Graduating Prize

Erica Loh

The Merrick Architecture Graduating Prize is made available annually by Merrick Architecture Borowski Sakumoto Fligg to a student graduating from the Master of Architecture Program or the Master of Advanced Studies in Architecture Program, based on his or her achievement in architectural studies.

Vaughn Berg Memorial Prize

Ayman Itani

A prize endowed by friends and family in memory of Vaughn Berg to recognize a student in the School of Architecture and Landscape Architecture whose thesis project expands beyond the realm of the discipline of architecture and embraces allied disciplines and related practices in arts in a forward-looking, innovative, and constructive manner.

Judah Shumiatcher Memorial Award in Architecture

Shasha Wang

This award is made available through an endowment established by the Shumiatcher Family and friends in memory of Judah Shumiatcher (1928-2019) for outstanding students entering their graduating year in the Master of Architecture program. Preference will be given to students whose designs encourage and inspire human interaction, experience and exchange.

Randle and Kathryn Iredale Scholarship in Architecture

Bryn Martin
Cecilia Lo

This award is in memory of Randle Iredale (1929-2000) for Master of Architecture students in their graduating year. Preference will be given to students whose graduate project has a focus on heritage conservation and/or green buildings.

RAIC Honor Roll

Madison Bartsch
Parker Albanese
Jedrik Mangahis
Laura Deacon

An Honour Roll designation is available annually by the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada to a maximum of four (4) individual students, from the top ten percent of the graduating class in the professional degree program.

AIA Henry Adams Medal

Parker Albanese

The AIA Henry Adams Medal is made available annually by the Architectural Institute of America to an outstanding student in each professional degree program accredited by the Canadian Architectural Certification Board in Canada and the National Architectural Accrediting Board in the United States.

Alpha Rho Chi Medal

Natalie Nguyen

A medal awarded to the graduating student in Architecture who has shown an ability for leadership, performed willing service for his/her School and demonstrates promise of professional merit through his/her attitude and personality.

Architectural Institute of BC Prize

Jon Ackerley

This prize is offered annually by the Architectural Institute of British Columbia to an outstanding graduating Master of Architecture student who has demonstrated academic excellence in design and who holds the promise of making a contribution to the profession of Architecture.

Royal Architectural Institute of Canada Medal

Madison Bartsch

The RAIC Student Medal is made available annually by the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada to a graduating student who, in the judgment of the faculty of the respective School, has achieved the highest level of academic excellence and/or has completed the outstanding final design project/thesis for that academic year.